Author Topic: Not website related but can you help?  (Read 4244 times)

Vensham

  • Ancient of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 627
  • Can't hold 'em alone!
    • View Profile
Not website related but can you help?
« on: April 07, 2011, 02:14:43 PM »
Im having trouble, i want to get the sound from mumble through my headset and in game stuff through my speakers. I do have 2 audio jacks, one set at the front of my computer and one set at the back.

is there any way to do this? I have tried going into my Realtek manager but theres nothing there.

I also tried to do it in game but when i select a different audio device in game it doesn't change unless i unplug my speakers or my headset.

Both jacks work but i have to unplug my headset from the front if i want to use my speakers or plug in my headset if i want to just use that.

Im not brilliant at explaining it but i hope u get what i mean.

regards

Kayleefrye

  • Order of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 1888
  • Justice has come.
    • View Profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 02:24:46 PM »
Probably not.

Normally, the output on the front and back aren't actually separate. The front input simply overrides the one at the back.

So:
1) Something plugged in at the front, nothing plugged in at the back: plays from the front only
2) Something plugged in at the front, something plugged in at the back: plays from the front only
3) Nothing plugged in at the front, something plugged in at the back: plays at the back only

Urthai

  • Order of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 2024
  • Captain Obvious!!
    • View Profile
    • Hyves
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2011, 02:27:15 PM »
Basically what you want, won't work this way since both the audio jacks come from the same source, so they're a copy of each other.

Their are 2 ways to enable the setup you want:

1.) get a stand-alone soundcard, then you can plug your speakers into that one and use the on-board soundcard from your motherboard for your headset and in either WoW or Muble you can setup what soundcard should be used by which application

2.) get an USB headset, this works basically the same because USB headset have a small stand alone soundcard integrated.

Hope this answers your question

Cheers,
Jaap
Urthai - lvl 90 Space Laser Druid

Vensham

  • Ancient of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 627
  • Can't hold 'em alone!
    • View Profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2011, 02:35:03 PM »
ah cheers dan and urathai, a usb headset could hold the answer then :)

EnergyCore

  • El dps
  • Officer
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 1340
  • Boom.
    • View Profile
    • My armory profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2011, 03:10:01 PM »
It works for me, use the mumble settings, look there
- Ian aka EnergyCore

Artemes

  • Order of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2011, 03:14:39 PM »
I've also done that on mine in the past... but my computer is insane and likes to do random things it's not supposed to so I wouldn't be able to say how or why mine did xD
Everything will be ok in the end, if it's not ok, it's not the end

Urthai

  • Order of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 2024
  • Captain Obvious!!
    • View Profile
    • Hyves
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2011, 04:48:36 PM »
It works for me, use the mumble settings, look there


You can get mumble to send a separate output to the front audio connector when using only 1 soundcard in your system?
Sounds a bit weird to me tbh.
Urthai - lvl 90 Space Laser Druid

EnergyCore

  • El dps
  • Officer
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 1340
  • Boom.
    • View Profile
    • My armory profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2011, 04:50:39 PM »
Hmmm, My motherboard came with a sound card, and the frontal connectors are on the motherboard, maybe that's why?
- Ian aka EnergyCore

Vensham

  • Ancient of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 627
  • Can't hold 'em alone!
    • View Profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2011, 04:51:28 PM »
when you open the divice manager though i have

Realtek audio manager

and

ATI high definition audio divice

does that help?

Vensham

  • Ancient of the Athanor
  • No Lifers
  • *****
  • Posts: 627
  • Can't hold 'em alone!
    • View Profile
Re: Not website related but can you help?
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2011, 05:07:11 PM »
Also my computer is having a mare!!

when i update my graphic drivers it blue screens saying it took too long to refresh after the update and rolls back, wtf?

i have tried doing it through the catalyst centre and through ATI's website but it refuses to update??

i have a ATI Radeon HD 5570